New tier bonuses

October 10, 2009 at 3:48 pm (Paladin healing)

So I think I am currently in the midst of an allergic reaction to something.  Seafood probably (which is weird cause its never happened before).  Anyway its 1:45am here and I am awake.  I’ve been considering logging on to WoW but I completely rearranged my UI today (swapping from healbot to Vudho, taking out 90% of my bars, x-perl’s party AND raid frames and just cleaning up) so I am a little bit reluctant to see what damage I have caused.

Ultimately it came down to having soooo much space taken up by 2 different types of raid frames and all this various crap that I didn’t need.  I think it looks cleaner now and hopefully I’ll be able to heal as well (if not better).  I have previously tried this with grid and I ended up reverting back to healbot mid raid cause my output was so much lower.  I don’t think that will happen this time.

I’ve also taken a look at the new tier 10 pally bonuses.  As you may know I’ve decided against taking the tier 9 recently (I’ve replaced 4 pieces of tier 8 with 245 so I am pretty happy with that).  The tier 10 bonuses are as follows (thanks mmo-champion)

  • 2 piece bonus – While your Divine Illumination talent is active, your healing spells are increased by 35%.
  • 4 piece bonus – Your Holy Shock spell causes the next Holy Light you cast within 10 sec to have 0.3 sec reduced cast time
  • The 2 piece bonus WAS a 60 sec reduction in divine favor.  They’ve definitely stepped in the right direction – that bonus was only matched by the 2 piece tier 9 bonus in pointlessness.

    Lets talk about the 4 piece first (cause its easier).  I like the concept of the 4 piece bonus.  I liked the old infusion of light talent (which if memory serves was a 1 sec cast time reduction on HL with a HS crit).  An added bonus was the synergy between the tier 7 set bonuses (easily the best this expansion) and that talent (2 piece increased HS crit, which procced more IoLs).

    The problem lies with the poor scaling of HS.  HS is both less HPS and HPM than HL.  Since you can also get your HLs much closer to the GCD now (something not even remotely considered in tier 7) the benefit of the faster HL is less – not to mention the fact that it is a MUCH smaller reduction this time around.  While I loved the HS fast HL combo as a great tank saver, I think these days its not nearly as potent as it was two patches ago.  That said, its a fun bonus (insofar as I like the playstyle options) and so it passes.

    The 2 piece is… well different.  I really don’t know how to feel about it to tell you the truth.  It gives you another offset on the divine plea healing penalty.  It could boost throughput in circumstances where throughput boosts are useful (phase 3 heroic anub, steelbreaker last IC).  My concern lies (and this is unquestionably a math issue) in whether using it for those purposes will reduce its mana efficiency effect. 

    Right now divine illumination is quite powerful as a mana management tool.  Like all mana management tools the aim is to spend as little critical time under the divine plea penalty as possible (non-critical times, eg between beasts, between phases on mimiron is fine to take the penalty).  Divine illumination should be used early – so it can be used multiple times in the fight.  Ideally, if you can successfully manage mana without using divine plea, then that is ideal.  While you shouldn’t wait till oom to use Divine plea, it should be used later.  In fact using divine plea too early will result in less mana being returned than using it later. 

    This makes divine illumination much more of a choice.  Do I hold off on divine illumination so I can safely divine plea mid fight (wings + divine illumination will reduce the penalty markedly, though probably not 100% as the effects are multiplicative)?  Would I be better off to simply divine illumination early so I can get another 15 sec window later on?  Do I need to keep divine illumination for an intense healing phase (something that I haven’t ever really done with wings but could consider)?  Currently its macroed into HL so that, at least, will have to change.

    Something else to think about.  The tier pieces have not been well itemised for the last 2 tiers.  In fact at best 2-3 of the 5 pieces have been ideally itemised.  This means however that you COULD pick up only the well itemised pieces and STILL get the (potentially) very powerful 2p tier bonus.

    Leave a Reply

