Sitting down or sitting out?

October 26, 2009 at 4:21 am (Uncategorized)

I’ve been out of town for a while.  It was great aside from a massive hangover.  I’ve been thinking about where to from here raiding and guild wise.  I applied to a new guild, slightly more progressed than my last one that wasn’t too far from shutting down either.  Of course half a dozen or more of my former guildies applied as well.

I am not sure that I want to join to be honest.  For a start they have a few holy pallies already.  Second I am feeling a little tired of the constant expectation of being on trial.  Also I may be moving interstate which means that now isn’t the best time to be applying to a new guild.

The biggest problem is the first.  It may be arrogant of me, and I could well be wrong, but I think I am as good as any holy paladin on my server.  I have pretty good gear, a reasonable amount of experience and the right skills to do the hard stuff.  However, joining a new guild I am starting at the bottom again.  I don’t want to sit out all the hardmodes trying to impress on normal, farm content.  To make things worse the healing lead is a paladin – meaning that any 1 paladin fight I am no chance, no matter how good I am.

There don’t seem to be a lot of other options.  I could always server transfer but to be honest there aren’t that many Oceanic guilds that are really progressed and I am somewhat reluctant to leave a server where I have a lot of friends that I enjoy running with.  I expect to find out tonight how my application went but I am not going to join this guild unless I have a reasonable expectation of getting a good amount of face time.  I am not going to be bench filler, I’d rather not raid that content then be expected to sit around night after night watching other people raid. 

In the meantime, I’ve been trying to organise a gun heroic 10 man team.  I’ve got tribute to skill and last attempt got to Anub with 46 attempts up – a run we never finished in the break up of the guild.  I think we have a strong team.  To be honest I prefer 10 mans anyway.  I’ve given 25s a chance but if my more hard core guild has taught me anything its that as long as you still have to rely on other raiders then success sits outside your control.  You can’t carry a 25 man through to success.  It may in fact only be an illusion that you can do so in 10s but I like the greater responsibility and control you have in 10s.  Of course serious 10 man raiding is basically unheard of – in any event you lose so much by not getting 25s gear that its at best niche.

In the meantime I’ve made some positive steps towards getting a job.  At least I am progressing something.

Leave a Reply

