Whats my main?

November 17, 2009 at 2:38 pm (Uncategorized)

Yeah so my last post was a bit emo.  One the great things about a semi-anonymous blog that very few people read is that I can be a bit self-indulgent from time to time.  We all got flaws so sue me 🙂

Even if I don’t post, even if I don’t play I usually read the blogs that I keep track of every few days.  I love insight, even if I don’t get it all the time, even if its about something meaningless ultimately.  Insight like roxors!

Which brings me to this – B3 is a fantastic blogger who I don’t actually read that often.  If this proves anything, its that you don’t need to be downing H Anub to understand things.

The reason I bring this up is partly because I realised the fact again today that most raiders have a class / spec / role that they are noticeably better than others at.  I could get clever and link this to my stance on hybrids.  How do these things even fit together?  Its because in a crisis you automatically revert back to “type“.  You will never perform as good on your alt as you do on your main – even if they have the same job – because as Big Bear Butt so succinctly puts it, some classes just click.

I noticed this because I raided tonight on my mage, for the first time in quite some time.  I realised that at some point I had crossed the line and was no longer THE mage.  I was just a mage, pretty good for my gear level, but it wasn’t as instinctive as it used to be.

I remember clearly what it used to be like – the best example I can think of is that we were 4 manning mana tombs or some other heroic back at 70.  One of the mobs would fear / mc / something the tank and the rest of the buggers would immediately drop threat and chase the healer.  Anyway the tank gets feared and the mobs just all rush at our priest, knowing that he is just toast.  I blinked forward, dragon’s breathed the mobs and went back to the skull target in the time it took them to halfway cross the room.  Priest lives, pack dies and we move on.  I don’t pretend that this is particularly heroic (like that pun?) it was purely instinctive.  Therein lies the point, those instincts are gone.  I can still meet out damage but the higher level of skills aren’t there.  They are with my pally now.

1 Comment

  1. Pugnacious Priest said,

    I think I would stop playing wow before I stopped being a Shadow Priest. Even if forced to go holy temporarily our of necessity. I will always be a Shadow Priest – I can have fun playing other classes, but am in no way skill/emotionaly attached. .

Leave a Reply

